A Good Start

On day number two now, finally have a chance to update my travels.

Before departure went to visit family and check out the baby cows on the farm.  Almost makes me feel bad about buying some veal a couple nights before.. *almost*

image

image

Had the sidecar and so gave my dad his first ride in it, he really enjoyed it and just waving at all the people in town on the way to the farm.

image

We took a nice ride around the fields and well the old tractors that have been sitting for ages just intrigued me..

image

image

image

After getting home did my last minute packing, Luna has discovered she has a VERY slight ability to jump so she plomps herself up on the new couches.

image

Left home very early to catch my 630 am flight to Denver then into Phoenix.  Flew on Southwest airlines again and they such great service as always.

image

image

image

After landing in Phoenix, Buddy from the forum I purchased the WR250R from picked me up at the airport.  After getting to his place we worked on setting up the bike while eating pizza. After putting all the luggage on the bike I gave it a shake down and seems well.  We loaded the bike in his truck and took it to my hosts, aka my awesome uncle Jim and his family just north of Phoenix.   Buddy and his wife were great, kudos to them for the hospitality. 

image

Getting a short amount of time to see Jim and his family was nice.  I was out literally within seconds of laying in bed, was up for nearly 36 hours at that point.  In the morning did some adjustments and said my goodbyes before hitting the road.  The route north was I-17 for a short while before hitting the much more scenic road of 179 to Sedona.  After Sedona hit Flagstaff for lunch and then 180 to where I am now on the South Rim of the Grand Canyon.  Unfortunately the GPS app wasn’t do it’s job of tracking my route until Flagstaff.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Camps were full inside the Grand Canyon but the ranger I spoke too informed me a free off the beaten path location so set up for the night here.  It’s actually a nice location, only about a 5 minute ride into town!

image

image

image

image

Bonus picture of the funky carpet at Wendy’s.. Stopped to get an overpriced Frosty.. About twice the normal cost as back home!

image

Leave a Reply

