Early end of a journey

Well the journey has been cut short and we’ll get to that later but here is a recap of the past two days.

Left Ouray Thursday morning, stopping in at the motel for another quick shower, also called Gunnison Motorsports the verify the tire delivery.  They have arrived! So made the trek back to Gunnison, grabbed some lunch and worked in their back lot to remove the wheels.  The owners wife had a hoot seeing Luna and took a photo to put on their Facebook page.  Owner, Fritz handed me a few decals as well on my way out.

Leaving Ouray

image

Passed the 15k mark

image

New rubber installed!

image

Great guys and very fair prices

image

From then on I was suggested by locals to check out Crested Butte.  Arrived and while it did have a nice downtown it was a bit touristy.  I hung out a bit then went to find a campsite at Lake Irwin.  When arriving at the campsite there was a line of RVs to get in.. RV camp grounds to me are quite lame so I found the host and asked about other camping.  She directed me to stay on the road just before the entrance and ride up into the meadows.  Was very primitive camping but the views were gorgeous, and free camping too! If I were stuck down in RV land I’d have to pay $18.

image

 

Set up camp and went into town for groceries and talked to some locals.  Met a fellow traveler named Andy from the UK who has been on the road for 3 years on his yamaha tenere 600. Awesome guy, he was very intrigued by the Ural and jealous of the cargo capacity.  Basically said in all his travels a Ural could work great as speed is slow when traveling outside the US.

image

image

image

Free campsite for the evening.

image

The kitchen

image

While waiting for dinner to cook went and checked out the wild flowers and scenery.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Slept pretty poorly that night, at 10k elevation it got cold and my pillow just plain was not comfortable so woke up early to hit the road to Glenwood Springs in hopes to find a Walmart for a new pillow and other supplies.  Another local the night before suggested I take Kebler Pass, glad I did.. The Aspen trees were a sight and also spotted some elk.

image

image

image

image

Coke Stoves

image

image

image

Just as I rolled into Glenwood Springs and coming to a red light I heard abnormal sound.. And for those whom never ridden a Ural, these things make all sorts of weird noises.  This was not the normal sewing machine with marbles being tossed around in a glass jar noise, but a knocking thunk noise from inside the engine case.  Not good.  At first I thought maybe the clutch screws coming loose so removed the starter to inspect the freewheel screws.. those were normal but were some chunks missing in the freewheel.. no biggie there. 

image

After that was time to drain the oil to look for matter. Was NOT looking forward to this as my guess at this point were bearings letting go.  Well in the back lot of a Safe Way grocery I drained it and inspected the filter. The results….

image

Crank bearing cage pieces.. This is what came out, so still lots left inside the motor waiting to wreck havoc.

image

Made a post online and amazing help was not far away!  Another Ural owner came to the rescue and trailered my rig to his place just a few towns over. 

image

I’ll have AAA tow it to the dealership in Fort Collins tomorrow or early next week.  In the meantime a previous coworker lives just outside Glenwood Springs so she invited me to stay the night.  Amazing luck in this bad situation.  I unloaded the luggage off the Ural and set up a rental car to get me and Luna home.  We then ordered from a local Hawaiian food place.. Mmm and just hung out overlooking the Eagle River on her back deck. 

image

image

image

Still up in the air the full situation on the bike.. options are to have the dealership repair it ($$$ potential), or have it towed home via uShip and do repairs here.. another option if I get it home is to swap in a BMW R80/7 engine I have out in the barn.. would be time intensive but the reliability and extra power the Ural deserves make the swap an enticing thought.  In the circus of Ural ownership, the show must go on!

Leave a Reply

