Colorado – Ouray & Silverton

image

Had an entire post written up then when I hit the publish it errored out and lost everything even though it was saved 😦 I’ll write this one a bit shorter and more pictures as that’s what people enjoy anyways!

Currently I’m ditching the tent for the hammock tonight, let’s just hope it doesn’t rain. The hammock is very comfortable and I can stretch out in it also. Makes a good place to type up this report too!

Yesterday I woke up early before all the tourist bustle of Ouray to take Luna on a walk. The old mining equipment is pretty neat.
image

Motel we stayed at, Bruce the manager was very accommodating. He even let me use a room the nights I didn’t stay while camping in the area to get my morning showers. Located on the south side of town next to the Elks club.
image

Afterwards checked out of the motel and while trying to decide what to do for the day I spotted another Ural! Billy from Texas on a 2014 efi Patrol T. I asked his plans and he mentioned wanting to try some trails but his wife was too nervous to ride along after their encounters the day before. I suggested we could both take our rigs so it’d be safer and while at it more fun to have a partner along.
image

We hit the road to Yankee Boy Basin just off the first switchback of town. Soon into the ride I could feel my Ural was going to have issues, just a massive lack of power for the steep loose road and really had to slip the clutch to get it up some of the paths. Billy did fine on his efi rig, so that’s an advantage there. I’m running the jets put in near sea level. I made it about 80% of the way until the bike just had no more.. very hard time starting and the engine was very warm. I could smell the hot oil so I turned the bike off to let it cool down while Billy continued. This gave me time for photos as well.
image

image

image

Selfie 🙂
image

image

image

Still some snow left up here
image

image

image

Billy returned saying the path got quite a bit rougher so glad I turned around when I did! On the way back down the slope I saw the Thistlewood campsite and low and behold there was an amazing campsite open! First come first serve so I grabbed it and have been here for 2 nights now.

Just look at this.. has a creek with a mini waterfall running next to it, shaded, fire ring, picnic table, less than 5 miles from town and a outhouse just up the way. Only $10 per night.
image

With camp set up Luna and I set out for Silverton along the Million dollar highway US550. Gorgeous road and well maintained. Not for the faint of heart!
image

image

image

Before I could even pull off my helmet in Silverton a crowd surrounded us! Women and children going crazy for Luna and guys asking about the bike. For the guys out there, don’t buy a Ural thinking it will be a chick magnet, the only thing it attracts is old guys.
image

image

image

image

image

I did some shopping in town picking up some decals and gifts including a $41 Harley Davidson shirt (yeah…) for the step dad. Afterwards rode out to the Old 100 Gold Mine and surrounding area.
image

image

image

image

image

Storm clouds were rolling in so we came back to camp. The sky cleared up so I hung out and played with the pooch until she tuckered out.
image

image

image

Today was basically a relax and maintenance day. Woke up to tighten some loose nuts on the bike, and rode into town for a shower and visited the hardware store to get a rubber stopper as my phone mount broke. These rough road excursions on a weakly suspended bike rattle everything out of place. While in the hardware store a kid about 16 came up and asked me if picked up a hitchhiker a few days ago. I said yeah but that was over 200 miles away. He told me that was his dad. Was a bit of a strange coincidence. I picked up the guy as he was walking down the busy highway 285 about 10 miles out from Morrison, Colorado. I saw a bike parked on the side of the road and about a mile later a guy carrying his jacket, helmet, and backpack. He told me his rear tire blew and he called for a tow but after waiting 4 hours gave up. I gave him a ride to town and wished him luck. His son said his father and the bike (towed) did make it home safely 🙂

After picking up provisions we set back to camp. I cooked up a burger patty that was 50% bacon and topped it with Colby cheese . No bun, still trying to stick with low carb for the most part. After lunch I laid in the hammock and ended up taking a 4 hour nap.. eek.
image

Keeping the pop chilled in the snow water river.
image

After the nap went into town to see what was going on. Another bulldog owner came up to see Luna and share photos of her bulldog Annabel. Her friend said it was on his bucket list to ride in a sidecar so offered him a quick ride thru town. Came back to camp afterwards and now laying underneath the stars in the hammock. Great way to end the evening.

Leave a Reply

