Colorado – Boulder to Ouray

Currently in Ouray.  The past two days have been great, not a lot of miles put in but plenty of things to see.  I left Mark’s late Sunday morning heading to Salida.  Before doing so Mark and his daughter got a ride in the sidecar, they had a blast.  I did a few last minute modifications to the luggage system as the saddle bags were wearing on the rear shocks.  Added on some blocks of wood to use as spacers and so far it is holding up well.

The trip didn’t get far when I smelled a meat smoker from the highway just south of Colorado Springs.  Beef brisket nachos with jalapenos!

image

From then on it was just some random gas station stops.  Before getting to Salida we ran into hail! Before we even knew it, it was just too late to pull over.  Luna got pelted with the hail and tried to crawl up into the nose of the sidecar. It sure did sting even thru my riding gear.

image

It warmed up quickly so I dried off.. during the storm my vents were open so I got soaked.   Made it Salida and sent a message to a fellow friend from ADVRider asking for camping locations.  He responded with GPS coordinates a long with saying he was in the area.  After picking up groceries I headed to camp, and wow what a location.  Ara had his dog Spirit with him so Luna had a playmate for the evening.

Arrived in Salida. A cool little town.

image

image

The camping spot. Very primitive but awesome views of Marshall Mountain.

image

image

image

We awoke in the morning to the sound of free range cattle, I think Luna was hoping for a T-Bone steak…

image

After packing up we explored the area.  The trails went on forever splitting off in all different directions.  Ended up getting onto a path which was quite scary on a sidecar bike.  The path was basically a ledge with a steep drop off, and to make matters worse the ground was soft dirt and many large rocks in the way that fell recently.  Ended up having to turn around.  Had fun though!

image

image

image

After exploring we hit the road for Highway 550, this was a nice ride which took us on US50 through Monarch and Gunnison. Monarch was a bit of a challenge, the Ural was struggling with the elevation.  I’m using the jets put in near the Boston elevation level, so not really designed to run here.  Monarch and US50 is a great scenic route nonetheless.

image

image

While in Gunnison I spotted a bike dealership as my rear tire is getting pretty worn and the spare isn’t much better.  Of course they didn’t have the Ural tires in stock but the owner said he’d have them in a couple days and only $25/wheel to have them installed.  As I’ll be spending time on Ouray and Silverton this works out perfect.  I’ll just swing thru on my way back north to have the tires swapped.

image

image

Heading south from Montrose we made it into Ouray.  The town was bustling.. tried two different campgrounds and both were full.  Temps were high too so splurged a bit on a motel. Nothing fancy but is nice to have air conditioning and WiFi.. which is allowing me to write this post 🙂

After settling in we browsed town and when temps cooled down the manager let me park in the carport so I could swap the sidecar wheel onto the motorcycle rear wheel. This allows me to.have more tread this way until I get the new tires this week.

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

